Holiday Recipe of the Week: Dairy Free Eggnog

Dairy-free-Eggnog-4

Today I decided to try out Starbucks Eggnog Latte and it was so delicious but since I’m my stomach and dairy are in a disagreement drinking this was such a risk but I just had to. After drinking it and enjoying it I might add I realized two things that the Starbucks Eggnog Latte isn’t for me and I need to find a nondairy alternative. Thank God for recipes like this and also this amazing company called So Delicious (review coming soon once I try their eggnog) that I won’t have to worry about my stomach being in nuts if I drink eggnog this holiday season.

Healthy Pursuit’s Recipe for Dairy-Free Eggnog

Ingredients
Instructions
  1. My Mom taught me to separate the whites from yolks using this method. By far the easiest way!
  2. Place egg yolks in a small mixing bowl and set aside
  3. Combine remaining ingredients in a medium sized saucepan and bring to a simmer on medium heat.
  4. Reduce heat to low.
  5. Slowly add approximately ¼ cup of the hot liquids to the egg yolks while whisking continuously. Continue until you’ve added about one cup of the liquid mixture to the egg yolks before transferring the yolks to the pot.
  6. Bring back up to medium heat and whisk while simmering for 4 minutes.
  7. Remove from heat and serve immediately or pour in a mason jar and refrigerate.
  8. Best sprinkled with a touch of ground cinnamon and nutmeg!
Notes
If you are paleo, look for guar gum free coconut milk (easily found in the ethnic isles of many grocery stores!)
Also, to lower the fat content in this drink, use lite coconut milk as opposed to full-fat.
If you plan on drinking the eggnog right away, opt for less nutmeg (1/2 tsp is best). If you’re planning on letting it sit for 1-2 days before enjoying, go with 1 teaspoon. I found that the longer it sat, the more the flavor developed instead of hitting you with a strong punch of nutmeg!
One thought on “Holiday Recipe of the Week: Dairy Free Eggnog

Leave a Reply

